Blessings Corner · My 52 Stories

November Blessings- Day 14 (A Little Black Friday Rant)

My daughter works for a big retailer. I have never been a fan of Black Friday, but ever since she started working at this department store, I have come to hate Black Friday and this store. That is because she always has to work a Black Friday shift and that shift always starts on Thanksgiving Day.

DSC07729
I took this photo in Yellowstone National Park this year.

I feel like Black Friday has taken over Thanksgiving. This has always been a family holiday. It’s a special day when family comes together, sometimes from miles apart. She just shared her work schedule with me and she has to work from 4:30pm on Thanksgiving Day to 3:00am Black Friday. Isn’t that a terrible shift? I guess we’ll be eating earlier this year. Sigh. And that is not all! She has to work later that Friday, after she comes home and gets some sleep. She does get paid time and a half, but is that worth missing out on family time? She will barely get to see her sister who will be home from college or her grandma who will be visiting.

She also has to work a shift at her other job on Christmas Eve. Lame!

♥ I do not shop Black Friday, even online, because I like to keep Thanksgiving as a day for family togetherness at home, and I feel like supporting it in any way keeps encouraging big businesses to take their employees away from their families. Thanks for reading my little rant. I hope you’re having a lovely week so far. ♥

6 thoughts on “November Blessings- Day 14 (A Little Black Friday Rant)

  1. My sister sounds a lot like your daughter. She values independence and money, and thinks that working is the key to both of those things. Hopefully one day they will realize that a price can’t be put on time with your family! I wouldn’t shed a tear if Black Friday was cancelled completely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you! I don’t shop on Black Friday. I haven’t for several years not even online. I don’t go near a mall either on that week-end. I spend it with my family for which I’m very thankful for. Both my children are able to come home and do. It’s my very favorite holiday. There’s no stress of gifts and worry about is it a good gift or not. It’s just food, games, talk, talk, talk, and lots and lots of laughter and fun with the family.

    Target has pledged to be shut on Thanksgiving. Maybe more and more companies will start doing it and honor our countries tradition of Thanksgiving and sharing the blessings of the year with family and friends instead of shopping.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love Thanksgiving for those reasons, also. It’s just a lovely family gathering holiday. I hope other stores will follow suit, but it would help if more people would stop shopping Black Friday or at least demand that all of Thanksgiving be honored. Thank you for your comment, Deborah.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

