Blessings Corner · My 52 Stories

November Blessings- Day 11 (My Daddy)

DSC08796
Since it is Veteran’s Day, I’ve decided to write a little bit about my dad. I haven’t seen my dad in many years. He lives in the Philippines with his wife, where they are close to her family.

When I was growing up, I was a daddy’s girl. My dad is an easy-going, laid-back kind of parent. I don’t think I could ever do anything which would disappoint him. Sometimes I wished he’d give me more of an opinion about something because he would always say that if it made me happy, it made him happy.

My dad always called me his baby girl or his princess. He made up elaborate nick names for me and my three brothers and my sister, which he would use whenever he got the chance. For example, he would use it over the phone whenever someone would call us. He would say something like, “You’re calling Princess Camie, Keeper of the Unicorns? Let me see if her majesty will talk to you.” That was usually amusing, but a little embarrassing if a boy called me. There might have been more between Princess Camie and Keeper of the Unicorns, but that’s all I remember. And then he would make up enchanting stories about kingdoms and magical creatures, and we became the knights and princesses. I loved his made up stories.

I miss my dad. I don’t hear from him very often because of the poor internet service there and the huge time difference. But I am glad he is happy with his wife and other family.

β™₯ Happy Veteran’s Day to my daddy and all veterans. Thank you all for your selfless service.Β β™₯

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “November Blessings- Day 11 (My Daddy)

  1. That’s lovely!
    My relationship with my Bio Father, Dad technically Step Dad, and then Step Dad was complicated. My Dad was the best of the 3, but even then there were issues.

    So, it’s been pretty great watching my daughter’s and husband’s relationship.
    She’s a “Daddy’s Girl”, and he’s totally proud and delighted that they have so much in common.
    I feel really blessed to have him as my soul mate, and children’s father.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh gosh, I forgot to tell you my Bio Father, and Dad, technically Step Dad were both in the Marine Corps. I spent the first nearly 5 yrs of my life on a base. My Step Dad was in the Army.

        Imagine my psyche. πŸ™‚ The Armed Services and those who serve are pretty special, and I’m very thankful for all they do, and their courage, and commitment to our country and countrymen and women.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My dad started in the Marines and ended in the Army Reserves. I’ve had two step dads and I lost count of how many step moms. Thanks for sharing all this with me, Deborah. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Mom had some good reasons for marrying my Bio Father, but she divorced him which was a good thing. I never saw him after that. Hence me calling him Bio Father. My Dad technically Step Dad was really good for us kids, but not so much for my Mom, and finally Step Dad in the end has been pretty great for my Mom and by the time she married him 3 of us were out of the house; one of the original 4 was still at home then she had one more; my youngest brother when I was 20!

        She was a bad picker of mates for a long time, but I think she finally figured out what would work for her and was lucky enough or blessed enough to find him. πŸ™‚ They’ll be together 40 years next summer.

        I’m pretty open about it. It is what it is. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, it is what it is! I’m an open book, also. My dad made a lot of mistakes with his wives. Big mistakes. I think he’s happy now, though. His wife now is a year younger than I am. I’ve never met her. My mom’s third and current husband was one of my dad’s army buddies. I’ve known him since I was young.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

