Blessings Corner · My 52 Stories

November Blessings- Day 9 (Christmas Preparations)

This morning my mother-in-law phoned my husband to tell him she has found us a potential acre of land to build on, near her home in central Utah. She sure is excited for our move! ♥ I spent most of today helping my son study for his semester exams for his accredited online classes: history, math, science and English. He had a lot of facts, equations, definitions and time line dates to memorize. I made up flash cards and grilled him. He’s taking those exams now, with his proctor. I’m confident he’s going to nail each test. I’m glad tomorrow is our fun day. We’re going on a hike with our Friday Nature Club. I need to plan the club activity for next week. Yikes!

DSC08791
This evening’s sunset view from my balcony

Christmas is just over 6 weeks away. This time of year seems to fly by, but I love it. I’ve been watching Hallmark Christmas movies since they started their Christmas countdown at Halloween. Are there any other Hallmark fans on here?

This week my husband is in town, after working out of state for the past two weeks. He will be away all of next week as well, and then back for Thanksgiving. So, this seemed a good time to start our Christmas shopping and planning. First we bought some porch decorations. For all the decorating I do at Christmas, I’ve never decorated our front porch. I’ve also bought the base wreath and supplies to make my Christmas wreath on my seasonal bucket list.

My daughter just asked me if I was going to post my gift list on here. Haha! No way, Missy! I did tell her to keep a certain day open in December so that she can join us at the Mannheim Steamroller concert. I am so excited about that! That will be our major family Christmas activity this year. In past years, we have seen The Nutcracker and A Christmas Carol.

I also sent out an email to some mothers in my neighborhood, so that we could schedule the date for my little girl Christmas craft party. I host these parties for their young daughters, and they love them. I now have little girls hugging me at church and asking me when the next craft party is going to be. I’ve already bought each girl a clear plastic jar from Michael’s, so they can each make a snow globe. I haven’t planned the rest of the party yet, but one year we had sugar cookies already made up for the girls to decorate and they loved that. I want to do that again.

♥ So that is the start of our preparations and planning. I’d love to hear how your Thanksgiving and Christmas preparations are coming along. ♥

4 thoughts on “November Blessings- Day 9 (Christmas Preparations)

  1. Wishing Marcus success on his exams!

    And Christmas traditions and activities stay firmly in their place in December for us. 🙂 But we do have plans to attend a homeschool field trip to the Nutcracker the first week of Dec.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Anne. His exams took him 2 and 1/2 hours to complete! I’ve been thinking about your comment, and when my children were younger, we always kept our Christmas activities and traditions to/in December as well. 🙂 Now that I am older, with three adult children, each with busy college and work schedules, with a husband who is away on business for weeks at a time, and especially this year with some big changes coming up, I’m going to embrace any opportunity that comes up to celebrate the season together, even if it means extending the season by starting it a little earlier. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

