Blessings Corner · My 52 Stories

November Blessings- Day 8 (Morning Person or Night Owl?)

DSC08757
Do you see a face?

I am not a morning person, but I admire those who are. Of course, I’ve often had to get up early in the morning, for appointments, to get to the airport or to start a road trip on my husband’s schedule. I’ve even got up early for friends in the pretense of exercising. I call that being a really good friend! But, that doesn’t make me a morning person and I admit I’m not always in the sunniest of moods so early in the day. Just ask my husband and kids!

When I first open my eyes upon the morning meadows and look out upon the beautiful world, I thank God I am alive.    ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

♥♥♥

I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.    ~E.B. White

This homeschool year, Marcus started Seminary. This a four-year scripture study program for high school youth of  The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The only class time we could fit into our homeschool schedule was a morning class from 7:40 to 8:30am. This requires that we get up around 6:45am so we can leave the house by 7:10am. For me, this feels so early to have to get up and I am not thrilled about leaving the house, especially now that it’s dark outside and cold. However, my son enjoys his class and his teacher and I have a testimony of the Seminary program. I loved it when I was his age. And it melts my heart every time he says, “Thank you, Mom, for driving me.” He knows me all too well.

Even though I am not a morning person, I do enjoy the time in the car with my son. We’ve been listening to this awesome series on audiobook. And while I wait for him inside the church building his class is held at, I often read my scriptures or write in my journal. So, it is time well spent. We do have our mornings where we decide we have stayed up too late the night before and sleep seems more appealing than Seminary, haha.

Ironically, I often suffer from insomnia, so I’ve been known to be awake in the early morning hours. When I can’t sleep and just keep tossing in bed, I prefer to get up and walk out into the living room where I wonder what in the world to do with myself. Sometimes I make myself some herbal tea or hot chocolate and read.

I looked for night owl quotes, but couldn’t find any I liked. I have always been a night owl, having come from a family of night owls. I often feel like I am most alive at night. I have some fond memories of late nights with my cousins, girl friends and my daughters, when we would erupt in a fit of giggles over nothing, after watching a fun movie together or playing games.

So, there you have it. I am more of night owl than a morning person, but I can appreciate the morning time when I have to!

♥ I want to hear- are you a morning person or a night owl? What do you appreciate about your favorite time of day? ♥

 

4 thoughts on “November Blessings- Day 8 (Morning Person or Night Owl?)

Leave a Reply

