Utah Corner

Celebrating Pioneer Day

In Utah we have a special holiday we celebrate every July 24th: Pioneer Day. It’s become a family tradition to spend the weekend of the 24th in Salt Lake City so we can enjoy the Days of ’47 events. It’s called the Days of ’47 because on July 24, 1847, Brigham Young arrived with the first Mormon pioneers to settle this valley. There had been much persecution from mobs, forcing the saints out of Nauvoo, Illinois.

DSC06006

On Friday evening we joined other Star Wars fans at a Bees game. It was a lot of fun and ended with a spectacular fireworks show to Star Wars theme music.

DSC06017 (2)

DSC06023

We were there with my sister, her children and her boyfriend (who took this pic), my brother and his family, and my husband’s long-time friend who was visiting from Tulsa (he sat in-between us).

DSC06090

On Saturday afternoon the kids and I took a tour of the Beehive House. This was a home belonging to Brigham Young. It contains some original pieces, such as his writing desk, as well as period pieces of furniture.

DSC06096

On Saturday evening we enjoyed the Days of ’47 Cowboy Games and Rodeo at the Utah State Fair Park.

DSC06109 (2)

The opening was exciting.

I have a new memory card for my DSLR camera and it’s supposed to take the best quality video.

DSC06115

Aren’t these horses gorgeous?

DSC06129 (2)

The rodeo also ended in fireworks which I chose to simply enjoy.

DSC06166

On Sunday we spent the day driving up the Nebo Loop Scenic Byway, where we stopped to walk around Payson Lake. I may do a separate post about Nebo Loop and Payson Lake.

DSC06313

On Monday morning we watched the Days of ’47 parade.

DSC06440

DSC06374 (2)

DSC06526

DSC06468

DSC06486

DSC06505

♥ I have several pioneer ancestors (through my mother’s side) who made the trek out west. I know a little about them from my family genealogy records. ♥ Does your state have a special holiday such as our Pioneer Day? I’d love to hear about it! ♥

9 thoughts on “Celebrating Pioneer Day

  1. Looks like a lot of fun traditions. And “Santa in Summer” made me smile. 🙂

    I’m glad I wasn’t there for the traffic or congestion, but you made me nostalgic for a place that celebrates Pioneer Day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Anne. This is the only time my husband has the patience to be in Salt Lake City. We always arrive early at events and leave after most the crowd has filed out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

