Scripture Corner

Precept Upon Precept, Line Upon Line

precept

This scripture verse reminds me that this is the Lord’s way of teaching His children- “precept upon precept, line upon line”. This is why I can take a familiar chapter or verse of scripture and glean something new when I read it yet again, especially when I take the time to quietly ponder the meaning in my heart and mind. I’m so thankful for the scriptures which were given to us to help us continue our learning and growth in this life. ♥ I believe we came to this earth with the knowledge we gained in the pre-mortal life with our Heavenly parents. Although we do not directly remember what our life there was like, our spirits are capable of recognizing eternal truths when we hear or read them. We only need to open our hearts and minds in faith, believing that we will be given further light and knowledge as we seek it.

In my church, we have additional books of scripture which I love and know to be true. In the Book of Mormon, there is a similar verse to this one in Isaiah:

For behold, thus saith the Lord God: I will give unto the children of men line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little; and blessed are those who hearken unto my precepts, and lend an ear unto my counsel, for they shall learn wisdom; for unto him that receiveth I will give more; and from them that shall say, We have enough, from them shall be taken away even that which they have.

2 Nephi 28:30

Isn’t this a beautiful verse? If you read the Book of Mormon with a sincere desire to know if it is a true book of scripture, you may find that it reaffirms and even clarifies much of what the Bible teaches us. We have an Article of Faith in my church which states:

We believe the Bible to be the word of God, as far as it is translated correctly. We also believe the Book of Mormon to be the word of God.

Articles of Faith 1:8

We know the Bible was translated by several different people so it seems possible that in these many translations some plain and valuable truths were lost. In my church, we study the King James version as we believe this is the most correct translation, and when we study the Book of Mormon along with the Bible, we gain a clearer understanding of the teachings of our Savior, Jesus Christ, and of our Heavenly Father’s plan for us, His children. ♥ I just wanted to share this with my readers today and invite them to read the Book of Mormon for themselves. There is even a promise near the end which you can read here. I know there are a lot of skeptics about the Book of Mormon, but I also know that we have the ability to gain a personal testimony of anything for ourselves, and the only way to do that with this book of scripture is to actually read and ponder it. I say this in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

♥ Do you have a favorite scripture verse about learning? I’d love for you to share it with us! Do you have an example of learning something line upon line, precept upon precept? Please share! Thank you for your thoughtful and kind comments. ♥

6 thoughts on “Precept Upon Precept, Line Upon Line

    1. The pre-mortal life was where we lived with our heavenly parents before we came to earth. There our Heavenly Father presented a plan for us to come to earth where we would receive a body and be tested in mortality so that we could continue to learn and grow. We loved our Heavenly Father very much and wanted to be just like Him and the only way to do that was to experience mortality, with all its human conditions, sorrows and joys. Because we were bound to make mistakes, our Father provided a Savior and Redeemer for us, Jesus Christ. Here is an article you might want to read about our knowledge of our pre-mortal life, and at the bottom there is a list of scripture verses (some from the Bible): https://www.lds.org/youth/article/what-we-know-about-premortal-life?lang=eng

      Like

  1. I think motherhood is the ultimate line upon line experience. If I’d known what my family would become I’d have been too overwhelmed to survive, but we just added kids here a little and there a little, and now we are what we are.😊 I’m really grateful to learn in bits and pieces!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I never looked at motherhood that way but you’re right! I’ve learned new things with each of my children and through each phase of motherhood. Thank you for your comment, Anne. 💛

      Like

Leave a Reply

