Places We Visit

Places to Visit- New York City

Last week, my two sons and I enjoyed a history trip to NYC, Philadelphia and Boston. Today I’m sharing what we saw and did in New York City. We started our trip there, spending three days altogether. This was a group trip, through the fabulous Liahona Preparatory Academy (the private school which my son takes online classes through, as part of our homeschooling). We each made new friends, saw history come to life, and made memories to last a lifetime.

On our first day in NYC, we were on our own to explore Times Square and anything else we desired. It was a rainy Memorial Day and we were exhausted from our red-eye flight, but had to wait until evening for our room to be available. Times Square is not my favorite because of the throngs of people, the pushy street hustlers (avoid eye contact and keep walking!) and the gross naked women (the naked cowboy isn’t so bad). We visited the Disney, M&M and Hershey stores. Later we bought warm cashew nuts from a vendor. Yum!

DSC04243

DSC04253
In Times Square we came across these cool orange top chairs.

From Times Square, we made our way to Bryant Park. This is one of the green spaces in NYC. It’s a place to enjoy free entertainment, grab a bite to eat and people-watch.

DSC04263
This monument is of William Cullen Bryant, who was a poet and newspaper editor. He was also the campaign chairperson for Central Park. He lived from 1794-1879.

And then to Grand Central Station, er Terminal. You can read about its history here. There is a small museum inside which we toured, and we grabbed a drink at one of the little shops. Mostly we people-watched. We watched one guy scrimmage through a garbage can and eat left-over scraps of food.

DSC04270

DSC04275
Grand Central Terminal is the largest train station in the world.
DSC04282
The dome ceiling has some cool detail.

The next morning we took a bus tour called, The Ride. It was really fun and I highly recommend it. We had a great guide, the bus “talks” and has some cool effects, and we were given a history of NYC as we rode through the streets. We were dropped off (as prearranged) at “our” Manhattan temple.

the ride
My view from the bus.
manhattan-temple-lds-248728-gallery
LDS Manhattan Temple (photo courtesy of lds.org)

From the temple we walked to Central Park. I love Central Park!

DSC04302

DSC04315
Belvedere Castle and Turtle Pond
DSC04336
View of Turtle Pond and beyond from Belvedere Castle’s balcony.

That night we saw the Broadway show, Anastasia, which we really liked. It is based off the animated film, but the villain is not Rasputin. After the show, we went back to our hotel for some yummy cheesecake from Junior’s. (This was when I discovered that my extremely picky-eater actually likes chocolate cheesecake! I tell you, this is a miracle!)

DSC04353

On our last day in NYC, we visited the 9/11 Memorial.

DSC04428

DSC04399

After that, we walked to Battery Park where we hopped on a ferry to Liberty Island,

DSC04490 (2)

and Ellis Island.

DSC04503 (3)
Ellis Island was my favorite. I only wish we’d been given more time there. We had to leave early to get to another Broadway show.

DSC04509

DSC04540

DSC04535

DSC04532 (2)

The last Broadway show we saw was, On Your Feet. Both Anastasia and On Your Feet (which is the story of Gloria and Emilio Estefan) were wonderful performances. My least favorite part of our NYC experience was taking the subway.

β™₯ Stay tuned for highlights from Philadelphia. Have you visited New York City? Are you a city or a country person? I’m definitely a country gal! But I’ve lived in some major cities with my family, due to my husband’s job. My favorite cities are Seattle, Toronto, and I have to admit, I fell in love with Boston. Do you have a favorite city? β™₯

15 thoughts on “Places to Visit- New York City

      1. Hello, Camie, my new friend! I have nominated you for The Mystery Blogger Award. Please don’t feel obligated to participate, but even though I’ve only just discovered your blog, I believe you deserve this! Your nomination will post on Friday.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’d honestly be too scared to go to NYC. I’m a country gal all the way. Cities freak me out. I end up saying “I need cows! I need cows!” But it looks as though you had a great time and I enjoyed the pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you, Elizabeth! Every time we drive two hours south to Salt Lake City, and anywhere in that crowded valley, I feel claustrophobic and just want to get back to our home here in a small farming town.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m working up my courage to go to my sister’s house. I have to drive through Detroit to get there. It’s all freeway so it’s not like I’d actually be in the city but I still panic at the thought. I don’t even like going into Lansing, which is MUCH smaller than Detroit.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Pete says, “You’re going to be locked in a car driving 70 miles an hour on the freeway. It’s not like you’re going to be walking around with $20’s hanging out of your pocket in the ‘hood.” Still…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

