Joy

The Joy of Living in the Moment

GOPR9739.MP4_snapshot_04.46_[2013.09.25_15.25.30]
My husband had no idea until afterwards. He likes to tell me I can go up in a hot air balloon once I’ve held my first three grandchildren.
While living in Lima, Peru, not so very long ago, I was given an exciting birthday gift. After taking me out to lunch downtown (and instructing me to eat light), three lovely women, each old enough to be my mother, walked me across the street to an outfit that specialized in paragliding. My friends promptly paid for me before sitting down on a bench to cheer me on. It was a total surprise and naturally I was a bit nervous as I had never done anything like this before, but in front of these friends (there was something about their wiser ages that spurred me on) I did something I rarely do. Instead of analyzing the situation, I took a deep breath and simply went for it. Mere minutes later, as my instructor and I were soaring high above cliffs, ocean and skyscrapers, I found myself truly living in the moment. Every sense was awakened. I felt the rush of the wind on my face, saw my reflection in the highest shiny window of a tower, heard seagulls and crashing waves, smelled the salty sea air, and tasted twenty minutes of pure exhilaration. Yes, thrill has a distinct taste.

♥♥♥ ♥♥♥

There is a favorite local restaurant here in Cache Valley called, Juniper. Like many other restaurants today, they have big screens set up to captivate diners while they eat. At Juniper you don’t watch sports such as basketball, football, soccer and golf. No, at Juniper you watch video clips of extreme sports. The last time my husband and I ate there, we watched footage of men and women shooting off a massive ocean cliff from a slip-and-slide! And you know what? Not a single one of those insane thrill seekers had a frown on their face as they plummeted to the water below. They were screaming to be sure, but there wasn’t time to do anything but live in their action-filled moment, and it always ended in big smiles, laughter and high-fives (because they all survived).

Untitled
Learning to use my macro lens. When I’m out in nature taking photographs, I live in the moment.

Today I realized that I want to live more in the moment. The best part of living in the moment is that I don’t need to leave the ground to do it. I just want to remember how amazing it felt to be paragliding because in that space of time I wasn’t over-thinking my trials or stressing over all that is wrong in this world which I have no control over. I was replacing the negative I often zoom in on, with a whole lot of positive, and I think the key for me is getting out of my own head and really appreciating all the beautiful things around me. Because life really is beautiful. Sometimes I need to ignore my messy kitchen and piled up laundry, put my cell phone down, go outside and take a meandering walk as I breathe deeply (unless the cows are out). Sometimes I even need to put down my camera and enjoy the world through my natural lens. (Okay I wear contacts, but without them the world would be a messy blur and I’d wave at street lamps.)

♥♥♥ ♥♥♥

What helps you to live in the moment? Have you ever gone paragliding or skydiving or something that pumped up your adrenaline?

18 thoughts on “The Joy of Living in the Moment

  1. Stumbled upon this article and absolutely love your photo! It’s incredible! You must of had such a lovely view (and rush) up there. I’ve gone skydiving and the adrenaline is surreal. Cheers to you and to many more adventures to come.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I climbed down the face of cliff using a rubber hose as a rope that was anchored to the cliff all to make a photograph of sunset on secluded beach. Getting down was loads of fun…getting up was scary and exciting. The fog rolled in making the rubber hose slippery and wet, The cliff was crumbly, wet, and rutted. Getting a solid footing wasn’t all that easy. Going up was slow and careful exercise.
    I was scared, and exhilarated at the same time. The image I made will forever be a favorite b/c of the work I did to get it. I’ll never forget it the experience.
    I was 55 yrs old when I did that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I once went rappelling and absolutely loved it. I can’t wait for warmer weather so that I can get out and do more of the things I love. Paragliding sounds like a ton of fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That looks like so much fun! On our honeymoon we went zip lining in Costa Rica! I was scared as nobody’s business but I had to be brave since the man I married LOVES adventure! It has been a wonderful journey since. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only been zip lining once, in Hawaii. I would love to go again. How fun to be married to the adventurous type. That would be me in my marriage. My husband plays it safe and stays on the ground. 😅 In fact he has sent me off alone on thrilling roller coasters (one that went off a building in Las Vegas).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WOW! You are adventurous! Isn’t that our good Lord, pairing us with our opposites. I think it gives us the opportunity to grow and explore different things we wouldn’t consider otherwise. My hubby is an introvert, I am an extrovert. He is adventurous, I am more safe. He is a workaholic, and I like fun. So we have learned to meet each other halfway. That is LOVE! Enjoy your adventures. So fun! Blessings.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. My husband likes to joke that we’re into “extreme parenting.” We’ve got a dozen kids from toddlers to teens–half of them adopted. That’s pretty much all the adrenaline rush we can handle right now. 🙂

    Paragliding looks awesome, though . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I admire you! I got dizzy just looking at that picture! I’m one of those people who is a nervous Nelly, so it really does hold me back from living in the moment an awfu lot. This post really inspired me to try not to do that too much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

