Photography Corner

Idaho Falls in Winter

Untitled

We spent this past weekend in Rexburg with Marissa, celebrating her birthday with her. On our way home we stopped by Idaho Falls to see its frozen state.ย There was only a peek of flowing water.

How is your January going so far? I worked out five mornings last week and it felt so good. I have a sweet gym here that I haven’t had access to in months. ๐Ÿ’œ

Last week I was asked if I would be placing Marcus in school here. I gave the firm answer of “No way!” ๐Ÿ˜œ This has been a question I’ve been asked time and again over our seven-plus years of homeschooling. I guess many acquaintances think that we only homeschool because we move around. Our friends and family know we are in this for the long haul. I remember how insecure and invisible I often felt in middle and high school. Honestly, I felt hopelessly lost at school, as if I were always the last to figure things out. I’m so thankful I have a confident 14-year old who likes himself and I honestly believe one reason he’s so comfortable in his own skin is because he hasn’t grown up confined to the rigid norms of public schooling.

11 thoughts on “Idaho Falls in Winter

  1. When I homeschooled my boys they were outgoing and happy. We joined a group of other homeschoolers and the boys got to do things and take field trips that were educational and unlike anything they would have experienced in public school. If I had kids today I’d never let them enter the school system!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Couldn’t agree more on your take with homeschooling. Most people automatically assume that if homeschooled your child will be a socially frail and timid child. I love that all of my kids are outgoing and well adjusted little creatures and I also think it’s due to the flexibilities of homeschooling!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for you for working out! I am so badly in need of exercise. As always, I love your photos. And isn’t it frustrating when people assume you’re homeschooling as the next best thing to school, when in fact homeschooling beats school every time?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I always explain our choice and then I wonder why I even bother explaining! I’m just glad there are other like-minded parents who do see the benefits of homeschooling. Thanks, Shelly. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

