Family Corner

2016 Reflections

This was an interesting year for me and my family. We started the year in Arizona and ended it in Utah and spent a lot of time going back and forth.

DSC03116
Marcus’ first chalk pastel masterpiece.

In January we discovered chalk pastel art in our homeschool. We like to use the free tutorials on Hodgepodge.

pizap.com14829817727301

In February we discovered a fun desert park in Tucson called, Tohono Chul. We also visited Tombstone for the first time.

DSC03611
My cousin made this fun cake to go with the travel theme.

In March, we celebrated my mother-in-law’s eightieth birthday. Also, my oldest son was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis at the age of 23. David and I were able to be with him through most of his tests and when his neurologist confirmed his diagnosis. It was the roughest part of our year.

IMG_4374

In April, Marissa went to her senior prom. Also, my girls and I went to a performance of Ballet West’s Beauty and the Beast.

AK_BRDGTOP_7691380934

In May, we went on a magical Disney World vacation as a family along with my baby brother and his family. It was so much fun!

pizap.com14829855914741

In June, we experienced our first bloom night in Arizona. We saw an amazing cactus flower commonly known as the Queen of the Night, bloom right before our eyes. It only blooms once a year at night. Also, Marissa graduated from high school as a homeschool graduate. She was accepted into the university of her choice with only her transcript and ACT scores.

pizap.com14829881917521

July was all about time with family and friends. We enjoyed a special week with favorite cousins, a summer concert with friends, a rodeo with my brother, a visit to the aquarium, a downtown parade and family time in a canyon.

Untitled

August featured a country fair and preparations to send Marissa to college.

Untitled

September started with moving my baby girl into her college apartment before David, Marcus and I returned to Tucson.

DSC00310
Creepers, spiders and Minecraft pumpkins, oh my!

October brought my first Halloween with only one child at home. We decorated our trunk for Trunk or Treat in a Minecraft theme.

DSC00482
My four amazing kids. I am so blessed to be their mama.

In early November, David, Marcus and I flew back to Utah for my niece’s baptism. Then Marcus stayed with his big sister for a week and a half while David and I returned to Arizona to pack. We moved home just before Thanksgiving and spent that holiday in our home as a family.

DSC01140
Christmas Day snow

And that brings me back to the here and now. I have felt so much joy since returning home. We have owned this house for four years now. It’s been our home-base while we’ve lived elsewhere (Peru and Arizona) for the most part. We’ve vacationed in this house for a few weeks to three months at a time, every year, and now we get to live here for hopefully all of next year (keeping fingers crossed!).

♥ Thanks for reading! I wish all of you a Happy New Year. ♥

4 thoughts on “2016 Reflections

    1. It is different with only the last one. However, in my case, I just moved back home where my oldest daughter lives while she goes to the university here, and just this past weekend my oldest son decided to move back home for a spell. Suddenly I’m back up to three of my four kids at home with me! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

