Homeschooling Corner

If You Think About It, All Parents Homeschool

DSC07367

As a homeschooling mom, I’ve noticed how often homeschooling gets a bad rap. I’ve been homeschooling for seven years now and for seven years, I’ve heard expressions of concern, disapproval, and my personal favorite, homeschool failure stories, from neighbors, friends, extended family, church members and strangers.

I’ve found that most of the time, if someone is genuinely concerned about my choice to homeschool, it is because they have common misconceptions about learning and education in general. Here are two simple truths about learning:

1. There is more than one way to learn.

2. All learning counts.

Let’s look at a definition of, education:

ed·u·ca·tion
ˌejəˈkāSH(ə)n/
noun

the act or process of imparting or acquiring general knowledge.

Now, let’s look at a definition of, homeschooling:

home·school·ing
ˈhōmˌsko͞oliNG/
noun

the education of children at home by their parents.

See where I’m going with this? All parents teach their children educational things at home. All children learn educational things at home.

When a child helps mom or dad in the kitchen, they are learning and that learning becomes part of their life-long education.

And that’s just one example.

So the reality is, all parents homeschool to an extent, even if they send their children to public schools. 

I’m pointing this out so that my non-homeschooling friends and family realize that all parents teach their children but as a homeschooling mom I’m taking personal responsibility for the full scope of my child’s education instead of just a few areas such as personal hygiene, basic cooking and family values.

And yes, I am capable and qualified as a mom to teach my own child and to hand pick teachers, learning methods and subjects for my own child’s education. It’s a myth to believe only institutional schools and professional teachers can properly educate our children. This is not disrespecting professional teachers. I know some amazing school teachers and only wish they had free choice in how and what they teach. What I don’t value is our outdated, unyielding, public education system.

Homeschooling parents give their child a wonderful gift by sharing the reigns of their child’s academic, secular, spiritual, emotional and life learning with their child. This means the child has much more control, choice and personal responsibility for their own education than public schools allow. This fosters self confidence and a life-long love for learning.

❤️ So, if you are a homeschooling parent, the next time you hear someone voice concern or disapproval, feel free to point out that all parents homeschool whenever they have teaching moments with their children. You’re just kicking that up fifty notches! 😉 And I think that is quite admirable. ❤️

13 thoughts on “If You Think About It, All Parents Homeschool

  1. My wife homeschools my daughter while I teach in a public school. You’ve touched on a very important point: teachers need control of their classrooms again. Homeschooling allows us the ability to meet, and often exceed the state standard, because we can go off on a tangent about a particular history lesson that the state would never allow in a classroom. Please teach your kids about government by getting involved and taking our classrooms back from our politicians. I’m a better teacher after state testing dates have passed…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! My husband was homeschooled so my in-laws are all for it. I heard my first bit of disapproval from someone I didn’t expect and it was disheartening. My children are so young still that most people just assume we will put them in traditional homeschool…and even that I’ll return to teaching once they’re school-aged. But I love what you’ve said here. All parents homeschool, to some extent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so lucky that your in-laws appreciate homeschooling. I don’t have a single family member on either side who supports me. I think people we know have stopped asking if we will put our son back in public school now that I’ve graduated two daughters from homeschooling. Best wishes in your homeschooling journey and Merry Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Camie I love this. I totally agree and I have actually said to parents that they are already homeschooling. I love the “shock and denial” that comes next! Then as we talk they get it. Great post! Shared out because now I don’t have to write about this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

