Joy

Replacing Stress With Joy

pictures-of-jesus-1138494-gallery
From the October General Conference talk, Joy and Spiritual Survival.

Confession: I have this way of stewing over, stressing over and obsessing over some of the negative things in my life, most of which I cannot change or control. Why do I torture myself in this way? Yesterday in church, as I was partaking of the sacrament and reflecting on my Savior’s atoning sacrifices for me, this clarifying thought came to my mind:

What an amazing relief to hand over my worries to a loving Father in Heaven and His Son, Jesus Christ, who can do so much more with them than I can. This frees me to use my precious time and energy on worthwhile things that bring me joy, such as spending time with those who love me- time when I am truly living in the moment.

This past week I found out that someone I once trusted had done something to deliberately hurt me. I let this particular issue eat at me for a couple of days, adding bitterness to my initial sorrow and pulling me into a state of depression around my poor husband and son who were trying desperately to cheer me up.

One morning I came to my senses and knelt down in prayer to my Heavenly Father. I tearfully poured my heart out to Him. I didn’t hold anything back. I also asked Him to help me forgive this person and see them as He sees them (as one of His children, just as I am one of His children). Once I had let all my anguish out, I started thanking my Heavenly Father for my many blessings. I named blessing after blessing off the top of my head. I felt so much lighter afterwards! I was reminded that the good in my life far outweighs the bad.

Looking back on last week, as soon as I let go of the issue I had been obsessing over, I finally felt peace and recognized joy in my every day life. One of the highlights of my week was spending three hours at an elderly neighbor’s home, easing some of her loneliness by having a long conversation with her about anything she wanted to talk about. I also felt joy every night when my son and I took a walk together (it’s the only time here when the temps cool down!). I felt joy preparing a delicious meatloaf dinner for my husband after a long day at work. I felt joy making a homemade birthday gift for my niece. I’m so glad I turned to my Heavenly Father in prayer that day and let go of the burden I had been carrying. Joy is so much nicer than stress!

♥ Have you ever had a similar experience? What are some of the joyful moments in your life that replace your stress? ♥

10 thoughts on “Replacing Stress With Joy

  1. I find joy in cooking and baking but sometimes get frustrated because my disability can make doing those things nearly impossible. I pray for strength and healing so I can do what I want in the kitchen and find great joy when I’m able to finish what I want to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so true! I love how you put this together so nicely. It really speaks of God’s love. I hold on to things more than I should and I am learning to let go sooner and be joyfull. The enemy loves to take our JOY but it is up to us to claim it and keep it. Thanks for sharing. I like to find JOY in my homeshool day. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

