Homeschooling Corner

Our State History Unit (Resources)

Last week, Marcus and I started our state history study unit. It’s a unit I’m putting together myself. I thought I’d share our progress here on my blog. Today I wanted to share the resources we are utilizing…

81GuwO5bFZL._SL1200_

Of course we need a map! I purchased this one from Amazon, framed it and hung it on our dining room wall. I have plans with this map which I’ll share in a later post.Arizona postcard

I also purchased a set of state fact postcards from Amazon. There is one to represent each state. I chose this set because each one features the date of statehood, which is the order we are using. We will be placing these postcards on our timeline. (Timeline pictures to come in a later post. It’s pretty bare right now!)

American Story

I found this great book at Barnes and Noble. It’s called, The American Story, by Jennifer Armstrong. There are one hundred true stories dating back to the 1500’s all the way to 2000. Some of these stories will help fill in our timeline. We decided to start our timeline with Jamestown (1607).

American Ride

This is my favorite resource! It’s an awesome TV series on BYUtv called, American Ride. We are able to stream the shows and start with the first season, which covers Colonial America. If you’re not familiar with this series, check it out! I recommend it for middle and highschoolers.

American-Landmarks-Chalk-Pastels_604x9641-188x300

The last resource I want to share is this chalk pastel e-book I purchased from Hodgepodge. Marcus enjoys creating chalk pastel art so I thought this would be a perfect art tie-in for this study unit. By the way, there are a lot of free chalk pastel tutorials on Hodgepodge, and this kind of art is super easy, inexpensive and fun for kids of all ages.

♥ If you are homeschooling, are you doing a study unit with your kids this year? I’d love to hear about it. ♥

One thought on “Our State History Unit (Resources)

Leave a Reply

